MacWorld San Francisco

It has been a few weeks, but here are my random thoughts about the show

– The new hardware (the Intel powered iMac and MacBook Pro (liked PowerBook better)) made me sit up and think cool. But my advice is wait for the rev B. Apple always has a rev B to address the bugs (HW and SW) that shipped with the original product – better to wait. Same reason to never but the first year of a new model of car – but I digress.

The possibilty that really has me excited about the new hardware is the potential to run Windows apps at full-speed – no more emulation. Not sure how long to get this functionality from Microsoft, but you gotta know they are working on it.

– I usually look for cool new things in the small developer booths. This year I found Browseback by Smile on my Mac. It is an application that . . . well let the developer tell you what it does:

Want to find a web page you know you saw but didn’t bookmark? ¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† ? browseback’s intuitive visual interface lets you scan through thumbnails of every page you’ve visited! ¬†Need to find all the web pages you’ve visited on a specific topic? ¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† ? With browseback, you can search the content of your web history by keyword! ¬†Found a web page that you want to share? ¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† ? Emailing a PDF of a page is quick and easy with browseback!Looking for an old news story that’s been taken off the publisher’s site? ¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† ? browseback stores a PDF of every page you visit, at the time that it was visited. And the contents are searchable too!

Passed by the booth the first time without stopping, but came back later and watched the demo. I can see myself using this app. You can buy it at the MacWorld discount ($5 off) of $24.95 through Jan 31 at this link.

– Did not see much else that grabbed my attention. The complete show was in the South Hall this year, but I heard there were more vendors present than last year. There was a bunch of iPod stuff – tons of cases – but nothing that made me stop and say wow.

– In the evening we had our 15th MacWorld Dinner. First one was August 1992 at MacWorld Boston. The past few years we have been eating at Bucca di Beppo on Howard St. This year we had 19 attendees – I think this was the biggest one yet. Lots of great food and tech conversation with some folks I only see at this annual event. Thanks to all of that made it and see you next year.

Leave a Reply

