Final Jeopardy – Answer: “Oh Snap!

Me – “Alex, what is the sound Jess’ ankle makes when he dislocates it”

Yep – I did a number on my ankle on Wednesday.

We are house-sitting a dog during the break – a 10-month old Havanese puppy with lots of energy. We took him to dog park to play and I was chasing him around – around on a hill – on a hill covered with wet grass and mud. I made a cut and my left leg went out from under me. My right foot stayed planted and I pivoted all my weight on the right ankle. I heard two loud pops and ended up on the ground.

Sat up to look at my foot and it was pointing off to the right at a 30 to 45 degree angle from my leg – not good. Beverly was calm and collected and called 911. Surprisingly it did not hurt much – a 2 on a scale of 1-10. EMTs showed up and splinted and iced it. Ambulance showed up a few minutes later and away we went to the hospital. I was sort of bummed that I did not get the sirens. They told me that the people that need the sirens really are not in shape to notice so I should be happy I did not need the siren.

Got to the Emergency room and went right in – no waiting at all. [Note to self – when going to the Emergency room go via ambulance – you skip the waiting room, which was packed.] I was sent for X-rays to confirm that it was dislocated – which was good. I was afraid I had broken both the bones in my leg but dislocation is better, easier on the body and easier to fix. Doc gave me some morphine and some other drug that would make me forget the next few minutes. They wrapped a towel around my foot and pulled – heard a few pops and it was back in place. I know I went back to X-Ray because I saw the after X-rays and they splinted and wrapped my leg, but I do not remember any of it. Gotta get some more of that drug.

Once everything was back in place the ER Doc called an Orthopedic surgeon to get his expert opinion. He was concerned that the socket the ankle fits into would be loose and could lead to future complications, like arthritis. He recommended surgery to insert two screws to pull the bones in the leg together to tighten up the socket. The recovery would be the same with or without the surgery – 6 weeks on crutches and then 6-8 more weeks to completely heal – so went for the surgery. An hour later I was in happy-land and on my way to surgery. Woke up and hour and half later with my leg all bandaged up and was released to go home.

My ankle is sore and as long as I keep popping the Vicodin the pain is manageable. Biggest thing I am bummed about is that I will miss Macworld in a couple of weeks and our annual Macworld dinner – first time in 16 years. Oh well – C’est la Vie.

8 thoughts on “Final Jeopardy – Answer: “Oh Snap!

  1. Hmmmm…. I’m still not seeing a reason for missing MacWorld. Crutches are gonna hold you back? Really? That’s not the Jess we all know…. me thinks you’ve tossed in the towel a bit too quickly.

  2. Dude – VERY sorry to hear that this happened. I hope you’re able to recover well, and that there are no lasting complications.

    Take care of yourself, and stay off that leg…

  3. Oh man, that sounds terrible and I hope that the pain gets more bearable soon. I think that the four of us could come up with a way to get you to MacWorld this year. We will talk more.

    For the time being, take care of yourself and let me know if I can help in any way.

  4. Sorry to hear that Jes! Day’s aunt just did something similar to herself last night. We were playing wiffle-ball and she fell on her arm and dislocated it. Had to call 911 and the bit because she hurt so much she couldn’t get up. Hope the recovery is swift and relatively painless.

  5. OUCH! I cannot believe that you would miss MacWorld over a dog… 8^)

    Seriously, I hope you are feeling better soon and ready for some backpacking in April. I gotta show you how to flyfish the backcountry.

  6. Pingback: I am so un-screwed « myBlog

Leave a Reply

