Deserted Island Discs

It is time to update my Deserted Island Discs (DIDs).
This is a list of the albums you NEED to have with you if you were stranded on a deserted island.

3 Rules:
1) You can not pick a Greatest Hits disc
2) Can only have 10 discs
3) There is no number 3

Did a pass through iTunes and came up with this as my starting list (in alphabetical order). This is to give you a sense of scope of music I am working from

– A Fine Frenzy – One Cell in the Sea
– AC/DC – Back in Black
– Against Me – New Wave
– Alanis Morissette – Jagged Little Pill
– Anna Nalick – Wreck of the Day
– Annie Lennox – Diva
– Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I Am, That’s I’m Not
– Bad Company – Bad Company
– Beatles – Revolver
– Boston – Boston
– Bowling for Soup – A Hangover You Don’t Deserve
– Bruce Springsteen – The Rising
– Chalets – Check In
– Cheap Trick – At Budokan
– Chumbawamba – Tubthumper
– Death Cab For Cutie – Plans
– Def Leppard – Pyromania
– Depeche Mode – Violator
– Dixie Chicks – Home
– Eagles – Hotel California
– Fleetwod Mac – Rumors
– Foo Fighters – Echo, Silence, Patience, & Grace
– Foo Fighters – In Your Honor
– Good Charlotte – The Yound and The Restless
– Gorillaz – Demon Days
– Green Day – American Idiot
– Matchbox Twenty – Yourself or Someone Like You
– Midnight Oil – Blue Sky Mining
– Pink Floyd – The Wall
– Police – Sychronicity
– Queen – Night at the Opera
– Raconteurs – Broken Boy Soldiers
– Rush – Permanent Waves
– Sheryl Crow – C’mon, C’mon
– Snow Patrol – Eyes Open
– Spoon – Gimme Fiction
– Sting – Brand New Day
– Styx – The Grand Illusion
– Talking Heads – Speaking In Tounges
– The Cat Empire – The Cat Empire EP
– The Corrs – In Blue
– The Swell Season – The Swell Season
– Tool – 10,000 Days
– U2 – Joshua Tree
– White Stripes – Icky Thump
– Yellowcard – Lights and Sounds

And my final 10
(drumroll please)
– The Beatles – Revolver
– Boston – Boston
– Bruce Springsteen – The Rising
– The Eagles – Hotel California
– The Foo Fighters – Echo, Silence, Patience, & Grace
– Green Day – American Idiot
– Pink Floyd – The Wall
– The Police – Sychronicity
– Queen – Night at the Opera
– Rush – Permanent Waves
– U2 – Joshua Tree

Ok, I cheated. It is a Bakers 10. I notice that most of these albums are from my younger days. I think that is a result of the positive memories the music on these albums has.

So what is are your DIDs? Which would you add/subtract from my list?

3 thoughts on “Deserted Island Discs

  1. Well, since you’re soliciting opinions… 🙂

    Having to choose 10 albums instead of ~80 songs makes this quite a bit more challenging. Surely if you were stranded on an island you’d have an iPod and a solar panel to charge it, not a CD player and discs (or before mp3 players, you’d have your favorite mix tapes).

    But I digress.

    I am shocked that you’d limit yourself not just to recent music (where’s the classical!?), but a fairly limited genre at that (blues? jazz? folk? opera?). Surely these discs would get old pretty darn fast.

    But even just sticking to rock/pop, you’ve totally left out some obvious categories. No southern rock at all. Where’s the Allman Brothers or Skynyrd? I’d easily kick out Hotel California for either of those. I’d pick Dark Side of the Moon over The Wall. I’d probably replace Boston – Boston with The Who – Tommy. And I’d lose Foo Fighters or Green Day for The Doors, probably Strange Days. Nor is Permanent Waves my favorite Rush album.

    Okay, enough criticism for now. 🙂

    BTW, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rolling_Stone%27s_500_Greatest_Albums_of_All_Time

    j.

  2. I looooove the Beatles, so, of course, Revolver! 🙂 I love the White Album too.. and basically any Beatles album, so I’m no help.

    funny, with digital downloads as they are, I rarely get a whole album these days. I suppose that is the record companies nightmare.

    I do pretty much buy whatever album Eric Clapton puts out, and I will get U2’s album.

    Hmmm, whole albums…. Sgt. Pepper.. White Album…. Fleetwood Mac’s Dreams… Paul Simon’s Graceland…. ahh I know I’m missing sooo many! 🙂

Leave a Reply

